

Duval County Public Schools

October 21, 2009, Board Workshop

Mr. Tommy Hazouri, Chairman

Ms. Brenda Priestly Jackson, Vice-Chairman

Ms. Martha Barrett

Ms. Nancy Broner

Ms. Betty Burney

Ms. Vicki Drake

Mr. W. C. Gentry

Mr. Ed Pratt-Dannals, Superintendent

ATTENDANCE: All Board Members were present with the exception of Ms. Betty Burney and Ms. Vicki Drake, who were out of town. Mr. Ed Pratt-Dannals, Superintendent, and Ms. Karen Chastain, Assistant General Counsel, were also present.

Call Meeting To Order

CALL MEETING TO ORDER

Minutes:

The Chairman called the Board Workshop to order at 1:05 p.m.

Items To Be Discussed

1. REVIEW OF NOVEMBER 3, 2009, DRAFT AGENDA

Minutes:

Staff reviewed the November 3, 2009, Draft Agenda with the Board.

Speakers:

- Mr. Tommy Hazouri, Board Chairman
- Mr. Ed Pratt-Dannals, Superintendent
- Ms. Vicki Reynolds, Chief Human Resource Services Officer
- Ms. Pat Willis, Deputy Superintendent
- Ms. Michelle Begley, Board Auditor
- Mr. Doug Ayars, Chief Operating Officer
- Ms. Nancy Broner, Board Member
- Ms. Brenda Priestly Jackson, Board Vice-Chairman
- Mr. Andy Eckert, Director, Facilities Services
- Mr. Paul Soares, Chief of Operations
- Ms. Martha Barrett, Board Member
- Mr. W. C. Gentry, Board Member
- Mr. David Ford, Director, Risk Management

2. MAGNET LONG RANGE PLAN & 2010-11 MAGNET RECOMMENDATIONS

Minutes:

Staff presented information to the Board regarding the Magnet Long Range Plan and the 2010-11 Magnet Recommendations. A copy of the material distributed is attached to the Minutes.

Speakers:

- Mr. Tommy Hazouri, Board Chairman
- Mr. Doug Ayars, Chief Operating Officer
- Dr. Sally Hague, Director, Magnet Programs
- Mr. Tom O'Dea, Director, Operations
- Mr. Ed Pratt-Dannals, Superintendent
- Ms. Nancy Broner, Board Member
- Ms. Brenda Priestly Jackson, Board Vice-Chairman
- Ms. Martha Barrett, Board Member
- Mr. W. C. Gentry, Board Member

Adjournment

ADJOURNMENT

Minutes:

	The Chairman adjourned the Board Workshop at 4:23 p.m.	
	BSC	
We Agree on this		
Superinte	endent	 Chairman